











NEW JERSEY STATE INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION

BOYS VOLLEYBALL

Championship History 1988-2024

1161 Route 130 North Robbinsville, NJ 08691 609-259-2776 **www.njsiaa.org**

Updated: June 2024



NEW JERSEY STATE INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION

TABLE OF CONTENTS

3 5

STATE CHAMPIONS

Most State Titles, Most Conescutive State Titles

NOTES

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, State Championships were not held in 2020.

Beginning in 2023, four state champions would be crowned – one for each group.

The New Jersey State Interscholastic Athletic Association strives to make each sport's Championship History Book an accurate and comprehensive resource. If you have information you believe should be included in these records (additions, deletions or corrections), it may be submitted by e-mail to Dena Maggio at dmaggio@njsiaa.org. Please provide supporting data/documentation with your submission. Appropriate documentation shall include, but is not limited to, the following: copies of scorebooks or game/season statistical summaries, copies of yearbooks, and copies of newspaper clippings. All information must be complete for consideration. Submissions completed by a coach or school administrator are preferred. Before any mark is added to the record book, it must be independently verified by the NJSIAA staff. If the information cannot be independently verified, it will not be included.

Championship History is updated on a seasonal basis when possible.

CHAMPIONSHIP HISTORY AND RECORD BOOK

State Champions

Year	Champion	Runner-Up	Score		
1988	Lakeland	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	N/A		
1989	Bridgewater-Raritan	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	N/A		
1990	Bridgewater-Raritan	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	N/A		
1991	Bridgewater-Raritan	Fair Lawn	N/A		
1992	Lakeland	Bridgewater-Raritan	N/A		
1993	Bridgewater-Raritan	Memorial (West New York)	N/A		
1994	Bridgewater-Raritan	Memorial (West New York)	15-4, 15-8		
1995	Fair Lawn	Bridgewater-Raritan	15-13, 13-15, 15-13		
1996	Cherry Hill East	Fair Lawn	16-14, 11-15, 15-10		
1997	Cherry Hill East	Memorial (West New York)	15-8, 15-13		
1998	Cherry Hill East	East Brunswick	15-5, 15-9		
1999	East Brunswick	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	20-18, 11-15, 15-7		
2000	East Brunswick	Lakeland	15-6, 16-14		
2001	East Brunswick	Clifton	15-12, 15-13		
2002	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	Hunterdon Central	15-8, 15-7		
2003	East Brunswick	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	7-15, 15-5, 15-12		
2004	East Brunswick	Fair Lawn	25-20, 25-26, 25-27, 18-25, 15-8		
2005	Bridgewater-Raritan	Clifton	25-20, 21-25, 25-20		
2006	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	Bridgewater-Raritan	2-1		
2007	East Brunswick	St. Peter's Prep	25-21, 25-22		
2008	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	St. Peter's Prep	25-14, 25-18		
2009	Southern Regional	St. Peter's Prep	25-21, 25-22		
2010	Southern Regional	St. Peter's Prep	20-25, 25-23, 25-17		
2011	Fair Lawn	Southern Regional	17-25, 23-25		
2012	Fair Lawn	Southern Regional	25-23, 13-25, 25-22		
2013	Southern Regional	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	25-22, 25-12		
2014	Southern Regional	St. Peter's Prep	25-27, 25-17, 25-14		
2015	Bridgewater-Raritan	Southern Regional	25-22, 25-12, 0-0		
2016	Southern Regional	Harrison	25-21, 25-21		
2017	Southern Regional	Fair Lawn	25-13, 25-18, 0-0		
2018	Old Bridge	Southern Regional	25-22, 21-25, 25-23		
2019	Old Bridge	Fair Lawn	25-19, 17-25, 25-18		
2020	Tournament cancelled due to COVID-19				
2021	Old Bridge	Southern Regional	25-21, 27-25, 25-21		
2022	Old Bridge	Southern Regional	26-7, 13-2		

NESIAA BOYS VOLLEYBALL CHAMPIONSHIP HISTORY AND RECORD BOOK

State Champions continued

*Beginning in 2023, four state champions would be crowned – one for each group.

Year	Group	State Champion	Runner-Up
2023	VI	Southern Regional	Bridgewater-Raritan
	Ш	Scotch-Plains Fanwood	Colts Neck
	II	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	Summit
	I	St. John Vianney	Passaic Charter
2024	VI	Old Bridge	Bridgewater-Raritan
	Ш	Cherry Hill West	Scotch-Plains Fanwood
	II	St. Joseph's (Metuchen)	Garfield
	I	West Caldwell Tech	St. John Vianney

NESIAA BOYS VOLLEYBALL CHAMPIONSHIP HISTORY AND RECORD BOOK

Number of State Titles

- No. School
- 7 Bridgewater-Raritan
- 7 Southern Regional
- 6 East Brunswick
- 5 Old Bridge
- 5 St. Joseph's (Metuchen)
- 3 Cherry Hill East
- 3 Fair Lawn
- 2 Lakeland
- 1 Cherry Hill West
- 1 Scotch Plains-Fanwood
- 1 St. John Vianney
- 1 West Caldwell Tech

Most Consecutive State Titles

No.	School	Years
4	Old Bridge	2018-2022
3	Bridgewater-Raritan	1989-1991
3	Cherry Hill East	1996-1998
3	East Brunswick	1999-2001