News and Views

Medal Awards of the Royal Society

HIS MAJESTY THE KING has approved of the following awards this year by the president and council of the Royal Society in respect of the two Royal Medals: to Prof. R. H. Fowler, for his work on statistical mechanics and allied departments of modern mathematical physics; and to Prof. E. S. Goodrich, for his work on the morphology of the excretory organs of the invertebrata and for his work on the comparative anatomy and embryology of the vertebrata. The following awards of medals have also been made by the president and council: Copley Medal to Sir Arthur Evans, in recognition of his pioneer work in Crete, particularly his contributions to the history and civilization of its Minoan Age; Rumford Medal to Prof. E. G. Coker, for his researches on the use of polarized light for investigating directly the stresses in transparent models of engineering structures; Davy Medal to Prof. W. A. Bone, for his pioneer work on contact catalysis and his researches on the mechanism of combustion of hydrocarbons and on the nature of flames and on gaseous explosions; Darwin Medal to Dr. E. J. Allen, in recognition of his long-continued work for the advancement of marine biology, not only by his own researches but also by the great influence he has exerted on very numerous investigations at Plymouth; Hughes Medal to Dr. W. Schottky, for his discovery of the Schrot effect in thermionic emission and his invention of the screen-grid tetrode and a superheterodyne method of receiving wireless signals.

New Officers of the Royal Society

The following is a list of those recommended by the president and council for election to the council of the Royal Society at the anniversary meeting on November 30: President, Sir William Bragg; Treasurer, Sir Henry Lyons; Secretaries, Sir Frank Smith and Prof. A. V. Hill; Foreign Secretary, Sir Albert Seward; Other members of Council, Prof. A. J. Allmand, Dr. G. T. Bennett, Prof. J. Chadwick, Prof. A. S. Eve, Prof. W. G. Fearnsides, Prof. L. N. G. Filon, Dr. J. Gray, Sir Daniel Hall, Prof. C. R. Harington, Prof. D. Keilin, Prof. J. Graham Kerr, Dr. R. H. Pickard, Mr. H. R. Ricardo, Prof. W. Stiles, Prof. W. W. C. Topley, Mr. W. Trotter.

Frederick Wollaston Hutton, F.R.S. (1836-1905)

On November 16, the centenary occurs of the birth of the distinguished geologist Frederick Wollaston Hutton, who together with Ferdinand von Hochstetter (1829-84), Sir John F. J. von Haast (1824-87) and Sir James Hector (1834-1907), laid the foundations of our knowledge of the geology of New Zealand. Hutton was born at Gate Burton,

Lincolnshire, being the second son of the Rev. H. F. Hutton. Educated at Southwell Grammar School and the Naval Academy, Gosport, he spent three years as a midshipman in the India Mercantile Marine and then entered the Army. He served in the Crimean War and the Indian Mutiny, and afterwards at Sandhurst gained a liking for geology from Prof. Thomas Rupert Jones (1819-1911). Leaving the Army in 1866, he went to New Zealand. In 1871 he became an assistant on the New Zealand Geological Survey, and two years later was made Government geologist of Otago. In 1877 he was appointed professor of natural science at the University of Otago and in 1880 settled in Christchurch as a professor in the University of New Zealand. Besides a large number of scientific papers, he published "Darwinism and Lamarckism" (in 1899), "The Lesson of Evolution" (in 1902) and "Animals of New Zealand" (in 1904). After an absence of nearly forty years, he revisited England, and was on his way back to New Zealand in the S.S. Rimutaka when he died at the Cape on October 27, 1905. After his death, a subscription was raised for the endowment of a bronze medal in his honour, and for the furtherance of research.

The Background to Harvey

In his Harveian Oration delivered before the Royal College of Physicians on October 19 and published in the British Medical Journal of October 24, Sir Walter Langdon-Brown, emeritus professor of physic in the University of Cambridge, described the background to Harvey as represented by contemporary thought, of which Francis Bacon, Robert Burton, the author of "The Anatomy of Melancholy", John Donne, the Dean of St. Paul's, Sir Thomas Browne, Thomas Hobbes, the author of "Leviathan", and the Cambridge Platonists were the chief exponents. Like Sir William Hale-White in his Harveian Oration of 1927, Sir Walter maintained that the "Novum Organum", in which the new spirit of England found its clearest expression, had a deep influence on the mind of Harvey who, as his medical adviser, came in close contact with Bacon. A striking contrast was offered by John Donne, who represented a transition from the sixteenth to the seventeenth century, being in certain aspects the most medieval and in others the most modern writer of his time. In conclusion, Sir Walter showed how the turmoil of thought in Harvey's time is being repeated to-day. In both instances a phase of great and rapid expansion both in thought and wealth was followed by disillusionment on the intellectual side and greater stringency on the financial; old standards were destroyed before new ones could take their place and a new form of art and literature appeared.