M E D



THURSDAY 8 DECEMBER 2016

CATE CAMPBELL TAKES OUT TOP HONOUR AT QUEENSLAND SPORT AWARDS

The world record holder for the fastest ever 100m freestyle swim by a female in Cate Campbell is The Courier-Mail Channel 7 Queensland Sport Star of the Year Award winner for 2016, announced at tonight's 22nd Annual Queensland Sport Awards / Hall of Fame Presentation in Brisbane.

A 700 strong black tie audience at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre heard the announcement of Campbell's win at the end of a night which saw 11 Awards presented for Queensland's top on and off field sporting performances in the period October, 2015 to September, 2016 and three further Service to Sport Awards presented for outstanding service.

Campbell was accompanied at the Awards Presentation by Rio Olympic Australian swim teammates sister Bronte and Emma McKeon who along with Brittany Elmslie teamed up in an all Queensland line-up in the final of the Rio Olympic women's 100m freestyle relay to win gold in a new world record that won them the XXXX Queensland Sport Team of the Year Award for 2016, Campbell swimming the final leg and after the missing a podium finish in the individual 100m freestyle final, backed up in the final leg for the Australian women's 4x100m medley relay team, coming from behind to win silver.

Campbell broke the world record for the 100m at the Brisbane Grand Prix in July in a time of 52.06, which broke German Britta Steffen's record set in 2009 during the "super suit "era, and broke the world short course record for the 100m in November last year, becoming the first woman to swim under 51seconds.

In winning tonight's award, Campbell saw off a line-up of nine other contenders that included teammate and fellow Rio gold medal winning swimmer Emma McKeon, Rio

E



gold medal winning rugby seven's Charlotte Caslick, NRL joint Dally M medal winner in Queensland and Australian rugby league halfback Cooper Cronk, world number one ranked golfer Jason Day, Firebirds' Australian netball defenders Laura Geitz and Clare McMenamin, Rio Hockeyroos captain Madonna Blyth and Rio Paralympian gold medal winners in para-canoeist Curtis McGrath and swimmer Lakeisha Patterson.

Caboolture teenager Patterson won the McDonalds Queensland Athlete with a Disability Award for her six medal winning haul in the pool in Rio while McGrath, winner of that award last year, won the Queensland Academy of Sport's Peter Lacey Award for Sporting Excellence, named after the Queensland surf lifesaving great and presented for the first time as part of the Queensland Sport Awards Presentation.

Young Far North Queensland world champion sailor Kristen Wadley won The Courier-Mail Channel 7 Queensland Junior Sport Star of the Year Award and the Queensland Government sponsored Junior Sport Team of the Year was awarded to the State's national championship winning Under 18 Boys' Table Tennis team.

Swimming coach Michael Bohl won the Queensland Sport Coach of the Year Award, also sponsored by the Queensland Government, while netball took away winners in three categories with the BCEC Queensland Sport Event of the Year in the double extra time ANZ Trans-Tasman Netball Championship final at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre won by the Queensland Firebirds, the Brisbane City Council Queensland Sport Volunteer of the Year going to Downey Park and Valleys netball stalwart Elizabeth White and the Queensland Sport Administrator of the Year sponsored by Arthur J Gallagher in Netball Queensland CEO Catherine Clark.

Hockey's international Rio Olympic referee Adam Kearns won the Konica Minolta sponsored Queensland Sport Officiator of the Year Award while early in the night, longstanding servants of para-sport, basketball and hockey in Ray Epstein, Ken Madsen and Faye Wastell respectively were awarded Coca Cola Amatil sponsored Queensland Service to Sport Awards. .

The Queensland Sport Hall of Fame welcomed new inductees in AFL's Simon Black, rugby league's John McDonald, swimming's Stephanie Rice and triathlon's Emma Snowsill, as was former Queensland and Australian rugby union centre Tim Horan who was elevated to Legend status as the 16th Legend of Queensland Sport.

The Queensland Sport Awards are conducted each year by QSport as the industry peak body of sport in Queensland which also coordinates the Queensland Sport Hall of Fame.

QSport's principal financial supporter is the Queensland Government while Channel 7 and The Courier-Mail also are major sponsors of the Awards and the Hall of Fame.

For further information, contact QSport CEO Peter Cummiskey on 3369 8955 / 0418 185 008 / admin@qsport.org.au or go to www.qsport.org.au

ENDS