



Asian American Engineer of the Year (AAEOY) Special Awards

The Asian American Distinguished Science & Technology Award is presented to an individual of Asian origin who has made distinguished achievement in science, engineering or technology.

The Asian American Life Time Achievement Award is bestowed upon an outstanding engineer, scientist, or technologist who is of Asian origin and has made significant contributions toward science technology, industry, or economic development of a country or a community.

AAEOY Special Award Winners

The award winners for the past years are listed as follows:

Year	Award Winner	
2002	Dr. Leo Esaki	1973 Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics
	Dr. Chang-Lin Tien	Chancellor, University of California at Berkeley (1990-1997)
2003	Dr. Samuel Chao-Chung Ting	1976 Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics, Thomas Dudley Cabot Professor of Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
	Dr. Chih-Tang "Tom" Sah	Pittman Eminent Scholar Chair, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of Florida
2004	Dr. Steven Chu	1997 Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics, Department of Applied Physics, Stanford University
	Dr. Yuan-Cheng Fung	Emeritus Scholar, Department of Bioengineering, at University of California at San Diego
2005	Dr. Daniel Chee Tsui	1998 Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics, Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor, Electrical Engineering, Princeton University
	Dr. Shu Chien	Professor of Bioengineering and Medicine, University of California at San Diego
2006	Dr. Yuan Tseh Lee	1986 Nobel Prize laureate in Chemistry, President of Academia Sinica, Taiwan
	Dr. Albert Y. C. Yu	Chairman, OneAngstrom LLC, Former Senior Vice President at Intel Corporation





2007	Dr. Taylor G. Wang	Centennial Professor and Director, Center for Microgravity Research and Applied Physics, Vanderbilt University, Astronaut, Payload Specialist, NASA
	Dr. James Wei	Pomeroy and Betty Perry Smith Professor, Emeritus Dean of Engineering and Applied Science, Princeton University
	Mr. Minoru S. "Sam"	CEO and President, ST-Infonox, Inc. Former President,
	Araki	Lockheed Martin Missiles & Space Company
	Mr. Norman Y. Mineta	Vice Chairman, Hill & Knowlton, Inc. Former US Secretary of Transportation, Former US Secretary of Commerce
	Dr. Hwa-Nine Yu	Emeritus Member of IBM research, Chairman, Technical Advisory Committee, Industrial Technology Research Institute
2008	Dr. Paul C. W. Chu	President, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
	Mr. Sandi Sigh	Founder and Chairman of the Board, i2 Technologies, Inc.
2009	Dr. Roger Tsien	2008 Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics. Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of California, San Diego
	Dr. Jeong Kim	President of Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs
2010	Dr. Charles Kuen Kao Dr. Shing-Tung Yau	2009 Nobel Prize Laureate in Physics.1982 Fields Metal Award. Professor of MathematicsDepartment, Harvard University
	Dr. Arun Netravali	2002 U.S. National Medal of Technology Award and Former President of AT&T Bell Labs