

NCAA Champ Coach Rick Pitino Set for Hall of Fame Class of 2013 along with 1963 NCAA Champion Loyola Ramblers

Charles Carey, Chairman of the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame, announced today that the 2013 class will include the entire 1963 Loyola Ramblers NCAA Championship basketball team, in recognition of the 50th Anniversary of its title. Carey said, "We're proud to welcome this legendary team to the hall of fame. No other Illinois team has ever captured an NCAA men's basketball tournament title. The 1963 Ramblers electrified the nation with their athletic talent and their journey to the title was a particularly significant milestone in the civil rights movement. We're looking forward to this opportunity in September for all their friends, family, and fans to join us in honoring these distinguished players."

The annual Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame induction dinner will take place on Wednesday, Sept. 18th at 6PM in the Gold Cup Restaurant at Hawthorne Race Course.

In addition to the induction of '63 Ramblers: Jerry Harkness, Leslie Hunter, Jerry Rochelle, John Egan and the rest of the team, the 2013 Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame will also present "The Ray Meyer College Coach of the Year" Award to Rick Pitino, who recently led the University of Louisville Cardinals to the 2013 NCAA Championship, Three-time MLB World Series winning Manager Tony LaRussa*, 1953 Heisman Trophy Winner Johnny Lattner, NFL veterans Don Beebe, Donovan McNabb, Pete Bercich, Jim Johnson, and Renaldo Wynn.

Also scheduled to appear at the dinner for induction are Olympic Greco-Roman wrestler Kevin Bracken, Chicago Blackhawk Eddie Olczyk, Chicago White Sox pitcher and NY Yankee All-Star Tommy John, and DePaul basketball legend Mark Aguirre, as well as NBA great Antoine Walker.

Other members of the class include: Illinois Big Ten Track & Field champion Al Carius, Minnesota Twins manager, player, radio commentator and World Series Hero Frank Quilici, Leo High School Football Coach & President Bob Foster, and legendary Chicago sports broadcaster Chet Coppock.

Fox News sportscaster Corey McPherrin will be the emcee for the induction dinner. The event benefits the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame Charities, a tax-exempt organization in Illinois under Section 501(c) (3). Individual tickets are \$125 each and tables of 10 are available. For tickets and sponsorships or to obtain more information, please visit <u>www.chicagolandsportshalloffame.com</u>, or call Howie Fagan at 708-780-3679 or 708-426-5212.

Hawthorne Race Course is located at 3501 South Laramie in Stickney, Illinois with plenty of parking available.

* If Available