# THE 2011 ROBERT MERRITT AWARDS



**NOMINEES AND WINNERS LIST** 



# (Winners are shown in bold red type)

# **Outstanding Performance - Lead Actor**

Production	Produced by
Invisible Atom	2b theatre company
Logan and I	The Doppler Effect
Fat Pig	Plutonium Playhouse
Woman in Black	Valley Summer Theatre
The Crucible	Two Planks and a Passion Theatre
	Invisible Atom Logan and I Fat Pig Woman in Black

# **Outstanding Performance - Lead Actress**

Name	Production	Produced by
Deborah Allen Mary-Colin Chisholm Jennifer Overton Jackie Torrens Sue Leblanc	Cloudburst Woman and Scarecrow Fall in Paris 7 Stories	Plutonium Playhouse Lunasea Theatre Eastern Front Theatre Neptune Theatre Zuppa Theatre
Sue Lebianc	5 Easy Steps to the End of the World	Zuppa Theatre

# **Outstanding Performance - Supporting Actor**

Production	Produced by
Merlin	Halifax Theatre for Young People
The Crucible	Two Planks and a Passion Theatre
Cloudburst	Plutonium Playhouse
Fat Pig	Plutonium Playhouse
Twelfth Night	Shakespeare by the Sea
	Merlin The Crucible Cloudburst Fat Pig

# **Outstanding Performance - Supporting Actress**

Name	Production	Produced by
Susan Stackhouse Jessica Barry Burgandy Code Amy Reitsma Sherry Smith	Rabbit Hole Fat Pig The Crucible Julius Caesar Woman and Scarecrow	Neptune Theatre Plutonium Playhouse Two Planks and a Passion Theatre DaPoPo Theatre Lunasea Theatre



# (Winners are shown in bold red type)

# **Outstanding Direction**

Name	Production	Produced by
Jean Morpurgo Mary-Colin Chisholm Pamela Halstead Alex McLean with Ann- Marie Kerr Mary Vingoe	Maggie's Getting Married Lauchie Liza and Rory Woman in Black 5 Easy Steps to the End of the World To Capture Light	Festival Antigonish Frankie Productions Valley Summer Theatre Zuppa Theatre Mulgrave Road Theatre

# **Outstanding Set Design**

iced by
Theatre
ium Theatre
ne Theatre
e Productions
<b>Company Theatre</b>
ı r

# **Outstanding Lighting Designer**

Name	Production	Produced by
Louisa Adamson	5 Easy Steps to the End of the World	Zuppa Theatre
Michael Fuller Will Perkins Leigh Ann Vardy Leigh Ann Vardy	The Net Woman in Black Invisible Atom The Wizard of Oz	Ship's Company Theatre Valley Summer Theatre 2b theatre company Neptune Theatre

# **Outstanding Costume Designer**

Name	Production	Produced by
Jennifer Coe	To Capture Light	Mulgrave Road Theatre
Leesa Hamilton	The Crucible	Two Planks and a Passion Theatre
Leesa Hamilton	5 Easy Steps to the End of the World	Zuppa Theatre
Edward Ledson	The Wizard of Oz	Neptune Theatre

# Arianne Pollet-Brannen Vonda de Ville in Temporal Vocalypse Follies

#### **Vocalypse Productions**

#### (Winners are shown in bold red type)

#### **Outstanding Sound Design**

Name Production Produced by

Brian Buckle A Christmas Carol Off the Leash

Mike Ross (Musical Dir) No Great Mischief Brian Neptune Theatre Onelight Theatre

Buckle Return Ticket: Halifax-Abadan-

Halifax

Michael Doherty Homage 2b theatre company

Terry Pulliam The Gravesavers Halifax Theatre for Young People

#### **Outstanding Original Music or Score**

#### Playwright Production Produced by

#### Allen Cole Rockbound Two Planks and a Passion Theatre

David Christensen & Poor Boy Zuppa Theatre/Neptune Theatre

Jason MacIsaac Eric Hughes A Christmas Carol-The Musical Neptune Theatre Dinuk Wijeratne Return Ticket: Halifax-Abadan- Onelight Theatre

Halifax Dinuk Wijeratne Toxic Bus Incident Onelight Theatre

### **Outstanding New Play by a Nova Scotian Playwright**

#### Name Play Produced by

Beverly Brett Out the Meadow Forerunner Playwrights Theatre

Allen Cole Rockbound Two Planks and a Passion Theatre

Christopher Heide The Gravesavers Halifax Theatre for Young People Ron Jenkins Extinction Song Eastern Front Theatre Daniel MacIvor A Beautiful View The Distinct Theatre Society/
Neptune Theatre

(Winners are shown in bold red type)

### **Outstanding Production**

Name	Produced by
A Beautiful View	The Distinct Theatre Society/Neptune Theatre
Rockbound	Two Planks and a Passion Theatre
East of Berlin	2b theatre company
Extinction Song	Eastern Front Theatre
No Great Mischief	Neptune Theatre

### **Outstanding Stage Manager**

Sylvia Bell

### **Outstanding Technician**

Ian Pygott

**Merritt Legacy Award** 

Jean Morpurgo

**Mayor's Award for Achievement in Theatre** 

**Jeremy Webb** 

**Mayor's Award for Emerging Theatre Artist** 

**Natasha MacLellan** 

**Volunteer of the Year Award** 

Perry Kossatz Aaron Harpell