

Dr. K. Sreenivasarao Secretary

SA. 61/13/AW/PR/

18 December 2013

For favour of Publication/Broadcast/Telecast

PRESS RELEASE

POETS DOMINATE SAHITYA AKADEMI AWARDS 2013

New Delhi, 18 December 2013. Eight books of poetry, four of essays, three of novels, two each of short stories and travelogues, one each of autobiography, memoirs and play have won the Sahitya Akademi Award this year.

The Awards were recommended by distinguished Jury members representing 22 Indian languages and approved by the Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi which met today under the Chairmanship of Dr. Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari, President of the Sahitya Akademi. Assamese and Gujarati language awards will be declared later on.

Famous poets honoured with the Award for the year 2013 are Subodh Sarkar (Bengali), Anil Boro (Bodo), Sitaram Sapolia (Dogri), Ambika Dutt (Rajasthani), Radhakant Thakur (Sanskrit), Arjun Charan Hembram (Santali), Namdev Tarachandani (Sindhi) and Javed Akhtar (Urdu).

The well-known novelists Mridula Garg (Hindi), Manmohan (Punjabi) and R.N. Joe D' Cruz (Tamil) are among those honoured with the Sahitya Akademi Awards 2013.

C.N. Ramachandran (Kannada), Tukaram Rama Shet (Konkani), Satish Kalasekar (Marathi), and Katyayani Vidmahe (Telugu) have got the Award for their books of essays. Temsula Ao (English) and Mohi-ud- Din Reshi (Kashmiri) have got the Award for their books of short stories, Makhonmani Mongsaba (Manipuri) and Man Bahadur Pradhan (Nepali) have got the Award for their travelogues. M.N. Paloor (Malayalam) for his autobiography, Sureshwar Jha (Maithili) for his memoirs and Bijoy Misra (Odia) for his play have been honoured. The books were selected on the basis of recommendations made by a Jury of three members in the concerned languages in accordance with the procedure laid down for the purpose. According to the procedure, the Executive Board declared the Awards on the basis of unanimous selections made by the Jurors or selection made on the basis of majority vote. The Awards relate to books first published during the three years immediately preceding the year of Award (i.e., between 1 January 2009 and 31 December 2011).

The Award in the form of a casket containing an engraved copperplaque, a shawl and a cheque of ₹ 1,00,000/- will be presented to the authors of these books at a special function to be held on 11 March 2014 at New Delhi during the Festival of Letters organized by Sahitya Akademi.

(K. Sreenivasarao)

Encls: List of Award-winners List of Jury members

<u>Annexure 'A'</u> Sahitya Akademi Awards 2013

<u>Language</u>	<u>Title and Genre</u>	<u>Author</u>
Bengali	Dwaipayan Hrader Dhare (Poetry)	Subodh Sarkar
Bodo	Delphini Onthai Mwdai Arw Gubun Gubun Khonthai (Poetry)	Anil Boro
Dogri	Doha Satsai (Poetry)	Sitaram Sapolia
English	Laburnum For My Head (Short Stories)	Temsula Ao
Hindi	Miljul Man (Novel)	Mridula Garg
Kannada	Akyana-Vyakyana (Essays)	C.N. Ramachandran
Kashmiri	Aina Aatash (Short Stories)	Mohi-ud-Din Reshi
Konkani	Manmotayam (Essays)	Tukaram Rama Shet
Maithili	Sangharsh Aa Sehanta (Memoirs)	Sureshwar Jha
Malayalam	Kathayillathavante Katha (Autobiography)	M.N. Paloor
Manipuri	Chinglon Amadagi Amada (Travelogue)	Makhonmani Mongsaba
Marathi	Vachanaryachi Rojanishee (Essays)	Satish Kalasekar
Nepali	Manka Lahar Ra Raharharu (Travelogue)	Man Bahadur Pradhan
Odia	Banaprastha (Play)	Bijoy Misra
Punjabi	Nirvaan (Novel)	Manmohan
Rajasthani	Aanthyoi Nahi Din Hal (Poetry)	Ambika Dutt
Sanskrit	Chaladuravani (Poetry)	Radhakant Thakur
Santali	Chanda Bonga (Poetry)	Arjun Charan Hembram
Sindhi	Mansh-Nagari (Poetry)	Namdev Tarachandani
Tamil	Korkai (Novel)	R.N. Joe D' Cruz
Telugu	Sahityaakashmlo Sagam (Essays)	Katyayani Vidmahe
Urdu	Lava (Poetry)	Javed Akhtar

Note: Assamese & Gujarati Awards will be declared later

JURY MEMBERS FOR THE 2013 SAHITYA AKADEMI AWARDS

BENGALI

- 1) Prof. Asru Kumar Sikdar
- 2) Sri Nirendranath Chakravarti
- 3) Sri Ratul Deb Barman

BODO

- 1) Sri Bisweswar Basumatary
- 2) Sri Janil Kumar Brahma
- 3) Sri Toren Boro

DOGRI

- 1) Dr. Om Goswami
- 2) Prof. Satya Pal Shrivatsa
- 3) Dr. Nirmal Vinod

ENGLISH

- 1) Dr. Jasbir Jain
- 2) Ms. Mamang Dai
- 3) Sri Shiv K. Kumar

HINDI

- 1) Prof. Arvindakshan
- 2) Smt. Chandrakanta
- 3) Sri Himanshu Joshi

KANNADA

- 1) Dr. K. Chinnappa Gowda
- 2) Dr. H.C. Boralingaiah
- 3) Sri T.P. Ashoka

KASHMIRI

- 1) Prof. Mishal Sultanpuri
- 2) Sri Manshoor Banhali
- 3) Prof. Shafi Shauq

KONKANI

- 1) Smt. Meena S. Kakodkar
- 2) Sri Melvyn Rodrigues
- 3) Sri Ramesh B. Veluskar

MAITHILI

- 1) Dr. Devendra Jha
- 2) Dr. Yoganand Jha
- 3) Dr. Rup Narayan Chaudhary

MALAYALAM

- 1) Sri M. Mukundan
- 2) Sri Paul Zacharia
- 3) Prof. M. Thomas Mathew

MANIPURI

- 1) Sri Nongthongbam Kunjamohan Singh
- 2) Sri Arambam Biren Singh
- 3) Prof. Thounaojam Ratankumar Singh

- 1) Prof. Sadanand More
- 2) Dr. Nagnath Kottapalle
- 3) Prof. Vilas Khole

NEPALI

- 1) Dr. Gokul Sinha
- 2) Dr. Pratap Chandra Pradhan
- 3) Sri Man Prasad Subba

ODIA

- 1) Dr. Krushna Ch. Behera
- 2) Dr. Prasan Kumar Swain
- 3) Prof. Soubhagya Kumar Mishra

PUNJABI

- 1) Sri Amarjit Grewal
- 2) Sri Prem Prakash
- 3) Dr. Satish K. Verma

RAJASTHANI

- 1) Dr. Bharat Ola
- 2) Sri Anna Ram Sudama
- 3) Sri Upendra 'Anu'

SANSKRIT

- 1) Prof. (Smt.) M.V. Ramana
- 2) Prof. Ramesh Chandra Panda
- 3) Prof. Shivjee Upadhyaya

SANTALI

- 1) Sri Jadumani Besra
- 2) Sri Ram Chandra Murmu
- 3) Dr. Ratan Chandra Hembram

SINDHI

- 1) Sri Laxman Dubey
- 2) Sri Lakhmi Khilani
- 3) Sri Dholan Rahi

TAMIL

- 1) Dr. C.S. Lakshmi (Ambai)
- 2) Dr. Indira R. Parthasarathi
- 3) Sri Ponneelan

TELUGU

- 1) Prof. Banna Ailaiah
- 2) Prof. Elluri Siva Reddy
- 3) Sri J.S Murthy 'Vihari'

URDU

- 1) Sri Krishan Kumar Toor
- 2) Sri Fey Seen Ejaz
- 3) Sri Salam Bin Razak