## University of the Arts London (formerly The London Institute) A Brief History

The Original Colleges of the Institute		Now
1854	Saint Martins	Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design (CSM)
1891	Chelsea	Chelsea College of Art and Design
1892	Printing	London College of Communication
1896	Central	Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design
1898	Camberwell	Camberwell College of Arts
1921	Retail and Distributive Trades	London College of Communication
1967	Fashion	London College of Fashion (LCF)

Each had predecessors, perhaps most noteworthy as it is the most recent, LCF was preceded by the Leather Trade School (established 1887) and Barrett Street Trade School (1915).

To 1965 1965– 1988 1983 1986	Individual Institutions controlled by London County Council Controlled by Inner London Education Authority (ILEA) ILEA review of Further & Higher Education ILEA review led to establishment of the London Institute.	
1986	John McKenzie appointed as first Rector.	
1988	Education Reform Act – Institute incorporated as separate legal entity.	
1989	First Court of Governors for Institute as a free-standing corporation Central & Saint Martins merged as Central Saint Martins College of Art & Design.	
1990	Printing and Distributive Trades merged as London College of Printing.	
1992	Further & Higher Education Act unifies Higher Education sector.	
1993 1996	Institute's Taught Degree Awarding Powers approved by Privy Council. Sir William Stubbs appointed as Rector on retirement of Professor McKenzie.	
1998	Coat of Arms granted for the Institute.	
1999	Drama Centre London (DCL) merged into CSM. Will Wyatt CBE appointed as Chairman of Governors on retirement of Julian Markham	
2000	Cordwainers College merged into LCF. First Chancellor of the Institute installed – Lord (Dennis) Stevenson.	
2001	RAE rating 5 – 'national excellence significantwork of international standing" Sir Michael Bichard appointed as Rector on retirement of Sir William Stubbs.	
2002	Granted Research Degree Awarding Powers	
2003	Granted University Status Byam Shaw merged into CSM	
2004	LCP renamed London College of Communication Awarded title as University of the Arts London	
2006 2007	Wimbledon School of Art incorporated as a sixth college Sir John Tusa appointed Chairman of Governors on retirement of Will Wyatt.	
2008	Nigel Carrington appointed as Rector on retirement of Sir Michael Bichard.	

- Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design renamed Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design.
- Change of titles for senior managers at the University the Rector becomes the Vice Chancellor; Deputy Rectors become Deputy Vice Chancellors; and the Heads of College become Pro Vice Chancellors.