

Handball @ HAU Hisar Achievements

The decade of 1980s may be termed as Golden Decade of HAU Handball. The game of Handball touched new heights during this period winning many a laurels. Many players including *Harcharan S Gill, Inderjit S Rana, and Ranbir S Bisla* attended national camps and don India's color at International level. In January, 1988, HAU hosted All India Inter Varsity Handball Championship and won **Gold Medal** under the Captainship of *Surender S Dhankhar* (now President, University Handball Club, CCS HAU Hisar). Haryana's State team was synonymous of HAU Handball team because of its playing seven were always selected from HAU.

During this period players of university while representing Haryana State won **two bronze medals** in Senior National Handball Championships held at Jaipur & Hisar.

HAU Handball team won first position in Haryana State Handball Championships **five times**.

University also organized All India Inter Varsity Handball Tournament in January, 1988 and HAU Handball team won the Gold Medal.

Besides these achievements, University Handball players while representing Haryana State participated in various Federation Cups, Senior National and Junior National Championships organized by Handball Federation of India.

The names of key players from constituent colleges contributed significantly for upward growth of Handball at HAU are given below:

1. College of Sports

- Jagdeep S Doon
- Sukhjit Singh
- Balwant Singh
- (Late) Sukhbir S Yadav
- Virender Singh
- Surender K Chhikara
- Ms Ajay Kiran
- > Ms Poonam Kataria
- Ranbir S Dahiya, Coach
- (Late) Jagjinder Singh, Coach





2. College of Veterinary Sciences

- Harcharan Singh Gill
- Ranbir S Bisla
- Rajesh K Yadav
- Narender Kumar
- Raj S Chahal
- Dalbir S Malik
- > Anil K Dahiya

3. College of Animal Sciences

- Devender S Dalal
- Zile S Malik
- Nirmal S Dahiya
- Dalpat S Malik

4. College of Agriculture

- Inderjit S Rana
- Dilbag S Chahal
- Surender S Dhankhar
- Harish K Yadav
- Jogender S Malik
- Ranjit S Dhanda
- Dayavir S Bisla
- Virender S Dhattarwal
- Devender S Chahal
- Devender S Bhidan
- Jitender S Bamel
- Raj S Dahiya
- Bijender S Beniwal
- Paramvir S Yadav







