## Richard Frdman and the FastWest Institute

The EastWest Institute, founded in 1981, is the world's leading organization dedicated to transforming political, social and economic development in Eastern Europe, with offices in New York, Moscow, Prague and Brussels. The Institute recognizes the accomplishments of international leaders for their efforts to foster integration and peace in Europe.

The EastWest Institute commissioned artist **Richard Erdman** to create original bronze sculptures to present each year to the Institute's honorees at its annual awards dinner in New York City. The abstract sculpture symbolize the essence and mission of the Institute; Statesman of the Year, Global Leadership and Peacebuilding Awards. Past recipients include these distinguished leaders:

## Statesman of the Year Award

2008 - Secretary of State Henry Kissinger, United States Secretary of State George Shultz, United States Secretary of State Bill Perry, United States Senator Sam Nunn, United States

2005 - **Prime Minister Tony Blair**, Great Britain Statesman of the Decade

2004 - Foreign Minister Anna Lindh, Sweden

2003 - Secretary General Dr. Javier Solana, European Union

2002 - Prime Minister Jean Chretien, Canada

2001 - President Vojislav Kostunica, Yugoslavia

2000 - Foreign Minister George Papandreou, Greece

1999 - **Chancellor Helmut Kohl**, Germany Statesman of the Decade

1998 - **President Eduard Shevardnadze**, Georgia **President Emil Constaninescu**, Romania

1997 - **President Roman Herzog**, Germany

President Vaclav Havel, Czech Republic

1996 - **President Algirdas Brazauskas**, Lithuania **President Guntis Ulmanis**, Latvia **President Lennart Meri**, Estonia

1995 - **President George H.W. Bush**, United States **President Leonid Kuchma**, Ukraine



Prime Minister Tony Blair receiving the *Statesman* sculpture in 2005



## Global Leadership Award

2008 - Joseph E. Robert, Jr., Chairman, BENS

2005 - **Sanford I. Weill,** Chairman, Citigroup

2004 - Finance Minister Alexei Leonidovich Kudrin, Russia

2002 - **David Rockefeller**, Chase Manhattan Bank

John C. Whitehead, fmr. Deputy Secretary of State

2000 - Bechtel Corporation

## **Peacebuilding Award**

2008 - Dr. Mohammed ElBaradei, Nobel Laureate, Director, IAEA

2006 - Dr. Kathryn W. Davis

2004 - UN High Commissioner Sergio de Mello

2003 - Doraja Eberle, Founder, Farmers Helping Farmers

2001 - Carpathian Foundation & Charles Stewart Mott Foundation

