

http://www.eurodatum.com

## • EU official languages and alphabets

23 official languages	Official in these Member States
Bulgarian	Bulgaria
Czech	Czech Republic
Danish	Denmark
Dutch	The Netherlands, Belgium
English	United Kingdom, Ireland, Malta
Estonian	Estonia
Finnish	Finland
French	France, Belgium, Luxembourg
Gaelic	Ireland
German	Germany, Austria, Belgium, Luxembourg
Greek	Greece, Cyprus
Hungarian	Hungary
Italian	Italy
Latvian	Latvia
Lithuanian	Lithuania
Maltese	Malta
Polish	Poland
Portuguese	Portugal
Romanian	Romania
Slovak	Slovakia
Slovenian	Slovenia
Spanish	Spain
Swedish	Sweden, Finland

source: eurodatum.com

Alphabets	Used by these Member States
Latin	Remaining 25 countries
Greek	Greece
Cyrillic	Bulgaria

source: eurodatum.com

## http://www.eurodatum.com

Usual working languages in EU institutions: English, French and German

## EU non-official languages in which citizens may address EU institutions

Catalan, Basque, Galician (co-official languages in Spain)

source: eurodatum.com

Language families	Languages
Indo-European (Germanic, Roman, Slavic, Greek, Celtic)	(the rest)
Finno-Ugric	Finnish, Hungarian and Estonian
Semitic	Maltese

source: eurodatum.com