NJCAA ANNUAL MEETING COMMITTEE REPORT FORM

FOOTBALL COMMITTEE

Don C. Wilhelm, Chairman	Blinn College; Region XIV
Art Becker	Scottsdale Community College; Region I
Chris Calcote	Mississippi Gulf Coast; Region XXIII
Jeff Duggan	College of Southern Idaho, Region XVIII
Gary Huber	Black Hawk College, Region IV
Dennis Perryman	Garden City Community College, Region VI
Art Westphal	Bethany Lutheran College, Region XIII
Parker Dykes, President	Jones County J.C., Football Coaches Association

I. HANDBOOK CHANGES

Section 1.	Important Dates for 2	2003	
	A. August 26	All Bowl Game sponsors mu	st fill out the NJCAA Athletic a certificate of insurance prior to
	B. August 28	First Game Date, 4 th Thursday	in August
	C. September 9	2003 weekly Football Poll rele	ases will begin. (Sect.5)
	D. September 23	Ballots for All-American Foot	
	E. November 14	(see Section 6)	
	F. November 21	(see Section 6)	
	G. November 16	All regular season games must	be completed (Sect 5)
	H. November 17	Final Season Poll released. (se	
	I. November 17	Date for selection of teams for	
	J. December 8	Championship Poll and All-An	
Important Dates for 2004 A. May 26			
	B. 1 st Game Date	4 th Thursday in August; August	26
	C. November 14	All regular season games must	
	D. November 15	Final Season Poll released.	ee completed.
	E. February 4	Signing Date for Football (See	Section 8)
	2. 1001 dui y 1	Signing Dute for Footbull (See	
Section 4.	A. Change date to AuB. Change date to No		
Section 5			
Section 5.		September 2, 2003; November 03; and November 17, 2003.	16, 2003; November 17, 2003;
Section 5.	F. Change Panel Dire District #1 (Region	ectors as follows: n III, V, XIV, XV, XXI)	Greg Fish
		ns XVII, XXII, XXIII)	Chris Calcote
	District #3 (Region		Gary Huber
	District #4 (Region		Dave Lilleman
	District #5 (Region	·	Dennis Perryman
	District #6 (Region		Don C. Wilhelm
	Distance no (Region		

District #7 (Regions I, V, XVIII)

Art Becker

Section 6. **All-American Selections**

- A. Change date to September 23, 2003.
- B. Change date to November 18, 2003.
- E. Change date to November 21, 2003.
- F. Change date to December 7, 2003.

Section 7. **General Rules**

- B. All teams must have a minimum of ten (10) practice days prior to a game or scrimmage with another team. The first three (3) days of these ten (10) shall be non-contact. These three days are to be a conditioning period with no contact between players and the players will be allowed to wear only t-shirts/jersey, shorts, shoes, helmets, and shoulder pads.
- G. Use of the 25-second field clock will be required for all football games during the season and for the National Championship Game if such game is played.
- H. Football jersey must be full-length and tucked into the pants as stated in the current NCAA Football Rules and Interpretations.
- I. Adhere and follow the NCAA Fight Rule (Rule 2 and 9) and the following addition for players leaving their designated bench area:

No player may leave their designated bench area to participate in any on or off the field altercations and/or fights. If such player or players are involved in this altercation, they will be disqualified for the remainder of the game and for the next game. If a player is disqualified for fighting a second time during that season, he shall be disqualified for that game and suspended for the remainder of the season.

The home team is required to film/video the entire game and the post game until all players and coaches have left the playing area in order to obtain the specific jersey number (s) of the player or players involved.

II. 2003 FOOTBALL BOWL GAME DATES

- 1. November 15 Graphic Edge/Sigler Printing Bowl Cedar Falls, Iowa 2. Dalton Defenders Bowl November 30 Coffeyville, Kansas 3. December 6 Heart of Texas Bowl Copperas Cove, Texas Sea Island Company Golden Isles Brunswick, Georgia 4. December 6 **Bowl Classic** 5. December 6 Valley of the Sun Bowl Phoenix, Arizona St. George, Utah
 - December 6 Dixie Rotary Bowl 6.

III. FOOTBALL COACHES ASSOCIATION CONSTITUTION & BYLAW CHANGES None

- IV. FOOTBALL COACHES ASSOCIATION DUES CHANGES None
- V. FOOTBALL COACHES ASSOCIATION OFFICERS, 2002

President	Parker Dykes; Jones County Junior College; Ellisville, MS
Vice-President	Marty Allen; Highland C.C.; Highland, KS
Secretary	Jeff Kilts; Snow College; Ephraim, UT
Treasurer	Chuck Lawrence; Navarro College; Corsicana, TX
Past President	Phil Martin; Montgomery College; Rockville, MD

2003-2005 Officers:

President	Marty Allen; Highland C.C.; Highland, KS
Vice-President	Jeff Kilts; Snow College; Ephraim, UT
Secretary	Chuck Lawrence; Navarro College; Corsicana, TX
Treasurer	Bob Larson; Garden City C.C.; Garden City, TX
Past President	Parker Dykes; Jones County Junior College; Ellisville, MS

District Chairman

#1 – Terry Dow	SUNY, Morrisville, NY
#2 – Terry Underwood	East Central C.C.; Decatur, MS
#3 – John Eliasik	William Rainey Harper College; Harper, IL
#4 – John Vraa	Ridgewater C.C.; Willmar, MN
#5 – Jeff Leiker	Coffeyville C.C.; Coffeyville, KS
#6 – Dale Carr	Tyler Junior College; Tyler, TX
#7 – Joe Kersting	Glendale C. C.; Glendale, AZ

VI. MISCELLANEOUS

- 1. The Coaches Association will purchase the trophies for the Division I National Champion and the Non-Scholarship National Champion. If the Non-Scholarship College is the #1 ranked team after the final poll, then only one trophy will be awarded.
- 2. The membership congratulated:
 - 1. The National Football Champion Joliet Junior College; Joliet, IL
 - 3. Coach of the Year Bob MacDougall; Joliet Junior College
 - 4. Offensive Player of the Year Kelvin Hayden; WR; Joliet Junior College
 - 5. Defensive Player of the Year Jamaal Jackson; DB; Northwest Mississippi C.C.
- 3. Phil Fulmer; Head Football Coach, University of Tennessee and President of the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) welcomed the committee and the NJCAA Football Coaches Association to Knoxville, TN.
- 4. Janice Briggs, Summit America Insurance Company, talked to the committee about the NJCAA Catastrophic Insurance program and urged the membership to be sure they have catastrophic insurance at their respective college.

VII. CHAMPIONSHIP EVENTS COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS None

VIII. ALL-AMERICAN COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS None

IX. FOOTBALL COACHES ASSOCIATION HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES, 2002

1955 Jones County Football Team, 10-0 1972 Blinn College Football Team, 11-0 Dick Hewins, Highland C.C. – WR Will Cokely, Coffeyville C.C. – LB John Perkins, Jones County – Tackle Mel Gray, Coffeyville C.C. – WR-KR Jesse Cummings, Navarro College – Contributor Bob McElroy, Navarro College – Coach Skip Foster, Coffeyville C.C. – Coach Phil Martin, Montgomery College – Coach Dale Kessinger, Highland C.C. – Coach Marty Allen, Highland C.C. – Coach

2003 Inductees

Contributors:	Don C. Wilhelm, Blinn College (Past Chairman of the FB Committee) Gary Cheatham, Garden City Community College Cecil R. 'Boots' Jordan, Jones County Junior College
Coaches:	Fred Julian, Grand Rapids Community College Jim Miller, Kilgore College William E. Fritz 'Willie' Fritz, Blinn College Bill Mills, Coffeyville Community College
Players:	C.J. Alexander, RB, Hinds Community College William M. 'Bucky' McElroy, Hinds Community College

X. FOOTBALL COACHES ASSOCIATION HALL OF FAME NOMINATION FORM CHANGES

1. Under Special Procedures, #3 – change date to read at the NJCAA National meetings each year instead of June 15th.

2. Change date at the bottom of page 231 and 232 should read Your Nominations Must Be Submitted By March 1^{st} to:

Marty Allen, Head Football Coach Highland Community College 606 West Main Highland, KS 66035-0068