Representation of the University in Seanad Éireann

By the provisions of the Seanad Electoral (University Members) Act, 1937, the University of Dublin became a constituency for the election of three members of Seanad Éireann.

The above Act prescribes that every person who is a citizen of Ireland, is not subject to any legal incapacity and has received a degree (other than an honorary degree) in the University of Dublin, or has obtained a foundation scholarship or a non-foundation scholarship in the said University and (in any case) has attained the age of eighteen years, shall be entitled to be registered as an elector in the Register of Electors for the University of Dublin constituency.

The Register of Electors is published annually on 1 June. Any person who is not entered on the electors' list, and claims to be entitled to be so entered, and all graduates and scholars who fulfil the above-mentioned conditions, may obtain forms of claim to be registered as university electors from the Seanad Electoral Officer, Trinity College, to whom all correspondence should be addressed.

Representatives of the University in Seanad Éireann Ivana Catherine Bacik, LL.M., elected 2007 David Patrick Bernard Norris, M.A., elected 2007 Shane Peter Nathaniel Ross, B.A., elected 2007

Calendar 2009-10 C1