

ABOUT COUNCIL

The Barossa Council takes in the major towns of Mount Pleasant, Angaston, Nuriootpa, Tanunda, Lyndoch and Williamstown, with Council's principal office being located in Nuriootpa, 60 kilometres north-east of the Adelaide Central Business District.

The Barossa Council has branch offices/libraries at Angaston (Angaston Town Hall, Washington Street), Mount Pleasant (Melrose Street), Nuriootpa (43-51 Tanunda Road), Tanunda (79 Murray Street) and Lyndoch (29 Barossa Valley Way).

The Barossa Council encompasses an area of 912 square kilometres and is home to more than 22,000 people.

The Barossa Council was proclaimed on I July 1996, having been formed through the amalgamation of the District Council of Angaston, the District Council of Barossa, and the District Council of Tanunda. The amalgamation of a portion of the District Council of Mount Pleasant took effect on I July 1997.

Council's mission is to plan for the needs of the Barossa region and provide the community, business, industry and visitors with high quality services and facilities that contribute to an attractive environment and lifestyle.



Council

The Elected Membership of The Barossa Council consists of a Mayor and 11 Councillors. Current Councillors are David de Vries, John Angas, David Lykke, Michael Seager, Scotty Milne, Richard Miller, Margaret Harris, Bob Sloane, Rebecca Tappert, Susie Reichstein and Bridgette Kies.

The current Councillors have been elected to serve a four-year term of office. The Mayor and all Councillors are elected by residents, and owners and renters of property in the Council area, who are aged 18 years of age or older.

The current Mayor is Brian Hurn OAM. The Mayor is the major spokesperson for the Council and presides over Council meetings. The Mayor and Councillors spend many hours each week attending meetings and functions on behalf of the Council.

Elected Members work hard to ensure that they make the best decisions for the local community. They discuss local issues with residents, set the policies and directions for the Council and inform the community about what the Council is doing. Paid staff members advise the Elected Members and carry out the Council's decisions.

Council meetings

Council's 11 Elected Members, chaired by the Mayor, meet monthly on the third Tuesday of every month at 9.00am in the Council Chambers, 43-51 Tanunda Road, Nuriootpa. The only exception is during the month of January, when the meeting is held on the last Tuesday.

All meetings are open to the public and media unless discussions are deemed confidential, according to the provisions of the Local Government Act 1999.

Meeting schedules, agenda papers and minutes are made available at meetings and are kept on public display in the Council's offices/libraries. The same information is available on Council's website www.barossa.sa.gov.au

Internal Council committees

Council has the following internal Committees:

- Audit Committee
- Tender Committee

Council also has a number of external (Section 41) committees and advisory groups. More information about these committees and groups is available on Council's website or by phoning Council on (08) 8563 8444.

Development Assessment Panel

The Development Assessment Panel meets every first Tuesday of the month in the Council Chambers at 5.00pm to consider and make decisions on development applications submitted to Council.

Mr Bruce Ballantyne is the current Presiding Member, with David Hughes, Kelvin Goldstone and Craig Grocke as independent members of the panel. They are joined by Elected Members Scotty Milne, Richard Miller and Susie Reichstein.

All DAP meetings are open to the public and media unless the Panel deems it necessary to hold discussions in confidence.

Meeting schedules, agenda papers and minutes are made available at meetings and are kept on public display in the Council's offices/libraries. The same information is available on Council's website www.barossa.sa.gov.au

Council staff

The Chief Executive Officer, David Morcom, leads the Corporate Management Team, comprising three Directors, namely:

lan Baldwin, Director, Development & Environmental Services Joanne Thomas, Director, Corporate & Community Services Michael Lange, Director, Works & Engineering

At 30 June 2010, The Barossa Council employed 119 full-time equivalent employees.