ELECTION FOR CHAIR OF BACKBENCH BUSINESS COMMITTEE—RESULT

Nominations for the position of Chair of the Backbench Business Committee under the Order of the House of 15 June closed at 5.00pm on Monday 21 June. The election was held by secret ballot on Tuesday 22 June 2010.

The following were candidates:

Natascha Engel (North East Derbyshire) (Labour)
Sir Alan Haselhurst (Saffron Walden) (Conservative)

The ballot was counted under the Alternative Vote system.

The votes received by each candidate are set out in the table below.

Candidate	Votes received	
Natascha Engel	202	ELECTED
Sir Alan Haselhurst	173	

One invalid ballot paper was received.