

Citation: Journal of the Reconstruction Convention: which met at Austin, Texas. Texas.

Constitutional Convention (1868–1869). Austin, TX: Tracy, Siemering & Co., printers, 1870.

Content downloaded from

Tarlton Constitutions 1824-1876 (http://tarlton.law.utexas.edu/constitutions/)

The text of these documents is in the public domain. That is, the original words and content are freely usable.

The images of the documents are copyrighted material; the copyright is held by the Tarlton Law Library. The copyrighted images may be used only with permission. Permission is granted to use the copyrighted materials in the classroom for educational purposes. Downloading, printing, publication, public display or otherwise using any of the copyrighted images, including on the web or in a forum other than a classroom, requires permission from Tarlton. Requests for permission to use these materials should be submitted online to rarebooks@law.utexas.edu.

If you are uncertain whether you need permission to use these materials, please contact us at rarebooks@law.utexas.edu.

LIST OF DELEGATES

TO THE

RECONSTRUCTION CONVENTION.

LIST OF DELEGATES

TO THE

RECONSTRUCTION CONVENTION,

AS ANNOUNCED IN SPECIAL ORDER NO. 216, DATED HEADQUARTERS FIFTH MILITARY DISTRICT, NEW ORLEANS, LA., APRIL 13TH, 1868.

Aaron Grigsby, Geo. W. Smith and C. Caldwell, Counties of Bowie, Davis and Marion.

W. H. Fleming, County of Red River.

L. D. Evans, County of Titus.

B. W. Gray, Counties of Red River and Titus.

M. L. Armstrong, County of Lamar.

D. W. Cole, County of Hopkins.

J. R. Scott, Counties of Lamar and Hopkins.

E. C. Rogers and D. C. Constant, Counties of Fannin and Hunt. F. W. Sumner and A. M. Bryant, Counties of Grayson, Cooke,

Montague, Jack, Wise, Young, Clay, Wichita, Archer, Wilbarger, Baylor, Throckmorton, Knox, Hardeman, Haskell and Greer.

J. W. Thomas and Thomas Kealy, Counties of Collin and Denton.

James Brown, Counties of Kaufman and Van Zandt.

L. P. Harris and G. Yarborough, Counties of Upshur and Wood, N. V. Board, C. E. Coleman, Mitchel Kendal and W. Johnson,

Counties of Harrison and Panola.

J. W. Flanagan and Webster Flanagan, County of Rusk.

G. W. Whitmore and G. H. Slaughter, County of Smith.

A. Bledsoe, County of Dallas.

¹ Expelled.

Arvin Wright and W. F. Carter, Counties of Ellis, Tarrant, Parker, Palo Pinto, Stephens, Jones and Shackleford.

A. L. Kirk, Counties of Erath, Johnson and Hood.

P. P. Adams and Marsh Glenn, Counties of Henderson and Anderson.

James R. Burnett and A. T. Munroe, Counties of Houston and Trinity.

W. H. Mullins and M. A. Gaston, Counties of Cherokee and

Angelina.

David Muckleroy, Sr., County of Nacogdoches.

William Phillips and John Morse, Counties of Shelby, San Augustine, Sabine and Newton.

James Armstrong, Counties of Jasper, Hardin, Jefferson and

Orange.

H. C. Pedigo, Counties of Tyler, Liberty and Chambers.

M. H. Goddin, County of Polk.

G. F. Ruby, County of Galveston.

W. R. Fayle and C. W. Bryant, County of Harris.

Robert K. Smith, Counties of Harris and Galveston.

Erwin Wilson, County of Brazoria. W. E. Horne, County of Fort Bend.

W. J. Phillips, Counties of Matagorda and Wharton.

- A. P. McCormick, Counties of Brazoria, Fort Bend, Matagorda and Wharton.
- J. P. Butler, A. Buffington and C. D. Harn, Counties of Grimes, Walker and Madison.

J. McWashington, County of Montgomery.

Wm. Keigwin, County of Leon.

Stephen Curtis, County of Brazes. J. B. Boyd, County of Robertson.

J. H. Lippard, County of Freestone.

M. L. Sorrell and Ralph Long, Counties of Limestone, Navarro and Hill.

A. J. Evans, Nathan Patten and Wm. E. Oaks,² Counties of McLennan, Falls and Bell.

Andrew Downing, Counties of Coryell, Lampasas, Bosque, Comanche and Hamilton.

J. H. Wilson, County of Milam.

T. H. Mundine, County of Burleson.

J. G. Lieb, C. J. Stockbridge and B. Q. Waters, County of Washington.

Expelled.

² Died. H. C. Hunt, elected to fill vacancy.

John G. Bell, County of Austin.

H. H. Foster, County of Colorado.

B. F. Williams, Counties of Austin and Colorado.

L. Lindsey, County of Fayette.

Morgan C. Hamilton, County of Bastrop.

Julius Schuetze, Counties of Fayette and Bastrop.

A. J. Hamilton and John Mackey, Counties of Travis and Caldwell.

J. W. Talbot,³ Counties of Williamson and Burnet.

Jacob Kuechler, Counties of Kendall, Gillespie, Llano, San Saba, Mason, Brown, Menard, Coleman, McCulloch, Concho, Callahan, Eastland, Taylor, Runnels and Kimble.

Geo. Klappenbach.3 Counties of Comal, Hays and Blanco.

E. Degener and J. P. Newcomb, Counties of Bexar, Wilson, Kerr, Bandera, Medina, Uvalde, Kinney, Maverick, Edwards and Zavalla.

F. A. Vaughan, County of Guadalupe.

E. Bellinger, County of Gonzales. W. H. Posey, County of Lavaca.

Wm. M. Varnell and S. M. Johnson, Counties of DeWitt, Victoria, Jackson and Calhoun.

A. P. H. Jordan, Counties of Bee, Goliad, Karnes and Atascosa.

E. J. Davis, Counties of Refugio, San Patricio, Nueces, Cameron, Hidalgo, Starr, Webb, Live Oak, Duval, Zapata, McMullen, Frio, La Salle, Dimmitt and Encinal.

W. W. Mills, Counties of El Paso and Presidio.

³ Died. S. Mullins, elected to fill vacancy.

³ Resigned. Richard E. Talbot, elected to fill vacancy.